Return to HitmanHQ
HitmanHQ Forum Index HitmanHQ
Home of the Hitman Community
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Depressingly slow
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    HitmanHQ Forum Index -> Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Baine
Informant


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Somehwere dank and dark

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 3:16 pm    Post subject: Depressingly slow Reply with quote

Hello,
I'm currently running my system on:

Windows XP Pro
P4 1.7GHz
1024Mb RAM
GeForce Ti 4200 (latest driver)
ASUS PS4800 Motherboard

and yet whenever I try and start up the game (Hitman Contracts) it takes an age for the mouse cursor to move in response to when I move the mouse ...... it's almost as though it was lagging behind a few months.
Can anyone suggest anything to fix this????
I'd be really grateful for any help at all.
Thanks

Baine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Ampersand
Cleaner


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1456
Location: Conjunction junction, what's your function.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you checked the mouse speed in the Options menu? Do you have the patch?

That's all I can think of. Sorry, I'm not the best with technical help. Maybe The Button Man or Disco Cat can help you with that.
_________________
~still in limbo~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wretch
Hitman


Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 5686
Location: :noitacoL

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm. You have plenty of RAM, but your processor's not the fastest.

Is it just the mouse that lags, or does the whole game lag once you start the missions?

If it's the whole game, I would suggest lowering the game's detail levels first in the Options menu, to see if that helps. I don't have Contracts installed right now, so I can't remember exactly what options there are, but I suggest these:

- Lower the game's resolution to 800x600 if it's currently set higher
- Lower the 'post-filter' effects
- Basically, lower everything that you can figure out, then see if it helps your performance. Once it's playing at a decent speed, you can start increasing detail levels up by notches and seeing how it plays, and test to reach a combination of performance and visual quality that's okay for you.

Hope that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Baine
Informant


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Somehwere dank and dark

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's it though, ifor some reason , the game loads fine, all the intro sponsor stuff runs fine, but the minute the startup screen comes on - graphics are great, so's the music, but whenever I move the mouse, the cursor responds about 30 seconds later - it's impossible to try and click on anything at all, I'd be on it all night trying to adjust anything on the game.
I remember playing the game before on my system, and seem to remember it working fine without any problems. I've tried installing other drivers (newest to those from the beginning of the year), but to no avail.
I'll do my best to be extra patient and wait as my mouse windles its way SLOWLY across the screen, and see if I can sort anything out in the menus.
Thanks for responding both of you - it's really appreciated
Baine

OH, and PS, Hitman 2: Silent assassin works fine on the system...... don't know if that says anything?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Wretch
Hitman


Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 5686
Location: :noitacoL

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, if it is as I suspect to do with your detail settings, I doubt it'll mean much because Contracts is more complicated than Silent Assassin in terms of the game-engine's graphics and more demanding in terms of system requirements. I think. Don't quote me on that.

Firstly I suggest you follow Ampersand's advice and install the patch (available here) if you haven't done so already. It's always a good idea to make sure any game is patched up to the latest version.

Secondly, if you can, try and start the actual game, and let it load up the first level so you can see if the lag is restricted to just the mouse. If it is a performance issue, then the pre-rendered introductory movies and the music wouldn't be affected, but your keyboard response time and the in-game frame-rate would be.

I know it can be frustrating as hell to try and sort these things out, but give it a try and see if it helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Button Man
Moderator


Joined: 30 Apr 2001
Posts: 846
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wretch wrote:

- Lower the 'post-filter' effects


9 times out of 10, that's the killer. The post-processing requires some serious calculation, and knocks the framerate down by 20-40fps. That can lead to all sorts of problems. You really need a high end card to deliver reasonable speeds with this option on. Turn that off first, and see how everything goes...

Mike
_________________
Don't count out The Button Man ...
Tech 21
http://www.thephonicmonkeys.com
http://www.kidneyriddler.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Franz
Hitman


Joined: 19 Feb 2002
Posts: 6042
Location: pm plz

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try prozac
_________________
Also calling the shots daily
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Ampersand
Cleaner


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1456
Location: Conjunction junction, what's your function.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't just go about recommending things you've tried just for the hell of it Franz. Even if it does work for you. Smile

Didn't mean to count out my favourite Wretch. He knows more than he lets on at times.

I hope you solve your problem Baine, and if not, there's always Blood Money to look forward to, right?
_________________
~still in limbo~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baine
Informant


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Somehwere dank and dark

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right guys,
Firstly, thanks a million to all those that replied - re prozac, this thing looks more like it'll need some more serious amphetamines!
Second, I've now started getting the error message as my machine crashes saying that the NVIDIA driver's responsible (or it thinks it is)..... but I'm sure I was using the same driver before when it worked fine. Anyhow, I've tried all the drivers released since march 2003, and all are now resulting in the same crash. Any ideas here? I'm not too familiar with the driver setup/system. Would the patch potentially fix this?
Once again, thanks guys (?gals too?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Nexus
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jul 2001
Posts: 12993
Location: in your forum, banning your dudes

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, the only pointer i can give you now is to run the thing in compatibility mode, it works sometimes.

The game may be incompatible with your copy of Windows XP pro, try making a shortcut to the game executable, then going to the shortcut properties, select the "Compatibility" tab, and choose the Windows 98 mode, for example. If it doesn't work, try Windows 2000 or, in last ressort, Windows 95.

It's a long shot, but may work.

Baine wrote:
(?gals too?)


Heh, glad to see you weren't fooled by Franz's moustached avatar.
Also, are you spanish?
_________________
Disco, Disco Cat
Dancing on a tin roof
Disco dancing's where it's at
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Wretch
Hitman


Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 5686
Location: :noitacoL

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because if you are, no more help for you. Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Baine
Informant


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Somehwere dank and dark

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shocked WHAT!?!?!?!?! What on earth lead you to think I was Spanish (not that I find it offensive - to anyone out there who is)
No, I can quite safely say that I'm not spanish, so don't stop the help Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Nexus
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jul 2001
Posts: 12993
Location: in your forum, banning your dudes

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So did Compatibility work?


Ps - We can test your for hispanichood at a later point.
_________________
Disco, Disco Cat
Dancing on a tin roof
Disco dancing's where it's at
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Baine
Informant


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Somehwere dank and dark

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I can safely say that it doesn't appear to be a compatibility issue - tried all three (2000, 98 and even 95) the opening screen (him sitting on a chair in front of the window) started to go pixelated (music working fine - that's what's making it worthwhile - I love the music) before it crashed again. This is the info supplied:

"The display driver for NVIDIA GeForce Ti 4200 seems to be responsible for the system instability"

error signature:
BCCode : 100000ea BCP1 : 860C4248 BCP2 : 85906238 BCP3 : 8621A898
BCP4 : 00000001 OSVer : 5_1_2600 SP : 1_0 Product : 256_1

as I say, barr the music, this is really beginning to p*** me off! ARRRRGHHHH! Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Nexus
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jul 2001
Posts: 12993
Location: in your forum, banning your dudes

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, i guess your only option right now is to go to:

http://www.hitmanforum.com/forum

They'll probably be much more helpful than us, but they can't mix a decent martini and cook decent buttered percebes like we can.
_________________
Disco, Disco Cat
Dancing on a tin roof
Disco dancing's where it's at
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Baine
Informant


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Somehwere dank and dark

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeXuS wrote:

Ps - We can test your for hispanichood at a later point.


HEHEHEHEHEHEHEEE! Where have you guys come up with the spanish idea??? I was born in France, but have a british passport, and am a student in a London hospital for your information!

PS is my avatar showing - I can't seem to see her Question


Last edited by Baine on Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:05 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Nexus
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jul 2001
Posts: 12993
Location: in your forum, banning your dudes

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Baine wrote:
HEHEHEHEHEHEHEEE! Where have you guys come up with the spanish idea??? I was born in France, but have a british passport, and am a student in a London hospital for your information!


Hon Hon! J'utilise l'internet!

Glad to hear it, Hitman HeadQuarters as a whole has a long feud with the nation of Spain. Long, dirty story.
_________________
Disco, Disco Cat
Dancing on a tin roof
Disco dancing's where it's at


Last edited by Nexus on Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:14 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Ampersand
Cleaner


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1456
Location: Conjunction junction, what's your function.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeXuS, I didn't realize you knew so much about computers. Idea Embarassed Idea
_________________
~still in limbo~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baine
Informant


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Somehwere dank and dark

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well then,
There's obviously no point in going there then is there! Laughing
Thanks guys for all your help, I hope one day I can help one of you! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Nexus
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jul 2001
Posts: 12993
Location: in your forum, banning your dudes

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ampersand wrote:
NeXuS, I didn't realize you knew so much about computers. Idea Embarassed Idea


Yeah, i'm the master of Windows Shortcuts Properties.

I can pull a mean "run in windowed mode" when inspired.

Also, what's up with your lack of MSN ;_;;;;;;
_________________
Disco, Disco Cat
Dancing on a tin roof
Disco dancing's where it's at
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    HitmanHQ Forum Index -> Technical Support All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group